8 Great Things About God

  • aaaWhat I mean by walking with God is having a relationship with him.  This is the underlying theme of the whole bible.  Establishing a great personal relationship with God is a somewhat new goal of mine; I’ve not had an intentional relationship with him at all until recently.  Instead, I thought God constituted of formal religion, and formal religion didn’t make much sense to me.

Here’s why.  There are a lot of people whose religion is a huge part of their identity who solely worship the traditions of the religion, and pay no mind to its teachings in real life.  That’s what I associated with God, and I had no idea what the real truth was, because that was my truth.  I didn’t want to be a hypocrite, so it was good practice for me to stay away from that oh-so-common, deceiving portrayal of Christianity.  I thought God condoned those behaviors because those disobeying him were so flamboyantly adamant that faith was a huge part of their lives.


I can’t tell you how wrong this is. 


If you don’t feel that urge to walk with him, that is, have a personal relationship with him then perhaps you’ve been fed the wrong version of God, too.


 

The truths I’ve learned about the real God only makes me crave more and more of a relationship with him.  To encourage you to get to know him, here’s a list of my favorite things about him so far 🙂


 

1. He makes sense- he’s competent.

John Ritenbaugh from Bibletools.org says:

      “Wisdom in the Bible has the same general meaning as the English word “skill.” In this context, wisdom indicates proficiency, competence, or adeptness at living in such a way to produce the fruits of righteousness.”

So wisdom indicates competence, and the Bible is full of scripture and entire books teaching wisdom.

 

Proverbs 1:7

The fear of the Lord is the beginning of knowledge, but fools despise wisdom and instruction.


2. He likes sincerity, not hypocrisy.

 

Matthew 7:5   

You hypocrites! Well did Isaiah prophesy of you, when he said: “‘This people honors me with their lips, but their heart is far from me; in vain do they worship me, teaching as doctrines the commandments of men.’”

 

 

Matthew 15:7-9  

You hypocrite, first take the log out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to take the speck out of your brother’s eye.


3. He craves mercy, not sacrifice.

Don’t do your “Christian” acts resentfully just because you think he wants you to; if you’re going to do them, do so with a cheerful, willing heart.

 

Hosea 6:6

For I desire mercy, not sacrifice, and acknowledgment of God rather than burnt offerings.

 


4. He loves when you talk to him.

Or “pray” to him, if ya wannabe all formal about it. Whatever you call it, just know he is delighted to listen to the innermost thoughts of your lovely heart.  He understands.

 

Psalms 145:18

The LORD is near to all them that call on him, to all that call on him in truth.

 


5. He wants to help you.

 

Luke 11: 9-13

“So I say to you: Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you. 10For everyone who asks receives; the one who seeks finds; and to the one who knocks, the door will be opened.11“Which of you fathers, if your son asks forf a fish, will give him a snake instead? 12Or if he asks for an egg, will give him a scorpion? 13If you then, though you are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father in heaven give the Holy Spirit to those who ask him!”


6. He’s understanding, patient, forgiving, generous, wise, and always there for you.

 

 

Psalm 25:8

 Good and upright is the Lord.


7. He thinks you’re amazing.

 

Song of Solomon 7:1

7 Him: Your feet are so beautiful, perfectly fitted in sandals, noble daughter![ a ] Your sculpted thighs are like jewels, the work of a master hand.


8. He’s the best friend I always wanted, who was there for me the whole time.

 

Revelation 3:20

Behold, I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and eat with him, and he with me.

John 15:13

Greater love has no one than this, that someone lay down his life for his friends.

Those are attributes I love in people, so how pleasurable it was for me when the Lord revealed that these are all just a teeny tiny part of who he is!  Until then, I was fearful of a scary God, who sought punishment for my pitiful soul.

 


 

It’s been a joy of a ride getting to know more about the Lord and trying to be more like him.  It’s a lifelong job that I know I’ll never master, but will never stop striving for.


 

I could have just reached out and established this relationship at any point in life, but I chose not to, until now.  And now I’ll do anything to bring you and me closer to the God that I know.  Because I know how awesome his power is, and I know where it will lead us.


 

While we’re still here on earth, it may not lead to prosperity, or happiness, or comfort every second of our existence; instead it may call for some scary risks.  But it will undoubtedly lead us to wisdom.  And he’s ever-so-eager to lead us by the hand to it.


 

But he’s not rude 🙂  He won’t push his way in.  He respects your boundaries too much.  As Dr.s Henry Cloud and John Townsend, authors of The Boundaries Books put it,

God respects our boundaries in many ways. First, he leaves work for us to do that only we can do. And he allows us to experience the painful consequences of our behavior so that we will change. He is not willing for any of us to perish and takes no pleasure in our destruction (2 Peter 3:9; Ezek. 18:23), but he wants us to change for our own good and his glory. It hurts him deeply when we don’t. But at the same time, he does not rescue us; he wants us to work it out for our own good. He will not violate our wish to be left alone, although he will plead with us to come back to him.

So you take the first step- don’t make my mistake and sit around.  Invite him in to your life now and have a chat, and tell him hello from me!


 

John 14:6

Jesus said to him, “I am the way, and the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.

 

This post shared at Tell it to Me Tuesday and What Joy is Mine link parties.

6 thoughts on “8 Great Things About God

  1. Hi,
    I know Vernon & teacup talk.

    Congratulations on being Danny Ray’s featured blogger. I was his featured blogger too. Maybe you can check out my blog if you need a blogging tip or two. That’s what I write about.
    Janice

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

