God’s Lessons, Lessons from Kids

God's Lessons and Lessons From Kids
In more ways than one, I feel like having a child has saved my life.  The line in the Martina McBride song In My Daughter’s Eyes, “She was sent to rescue me,”  simply nails it on the head.

I’ve posted about parenting before, admitting it was self defeating and relating fatherhood to God.  But I’ve been thinking about it some more: here I was, just going by in life, thinking I had it all under control, so my husband and I decide we should reproduce.  “A little one would be so much fun to raise!” we mused.  So along came this tiny human being into our home, and on top of all the work he requires, he has managed to teach me so many lessons about life, and he doesn’t even have a clue he’s doing it.  Having a child made me think more about life, and one day it hit me: now I’m able to view the world more like God does.  We are all his sons and daughters, and he looks down on us- even as adults, with all the flaws and ugliness in character we accumulate- just as lovingly as we look down on our little ones.

Don’t get me wrong, it’s not all fun and games, and there’s not always so much time for such insightful pondering.  Yes, children definitely add hardship to our lives, especially when we’re obligated to bring toddlers to non-kid-friendly places.  I’ve learned to watch out for glass figurines on low shelves, as well as plates of almonds on coffee tables, you know- the kinds of things that are prominent in houses of people without kids.  There are also those pesky unguarded staircases, and we’ve also ran into some ancient, short-tempered Shih Tzus when we’re out and about, visiting others’ houses.  Oh, the exhausting chases that have ensued!  Not even to mention the average of, oh, about 2 hours of sleep you get during the first 3 months of their lives.

But nothing actually worth pursuing is ever easy in life, so why should we expect parenting to be any different?   Even throughout those exhausting days, an imperative task for us as parents to remember is to be thankful for what our kids offer us in return.  What benefits do they offer us?  Well, by having kids, God graciously assigned us the task of being an example of living a good life, so they will learn to do the same, too.  Your habits will rub off on him or her, so live a legacy you want to see repeated for generations.

And my favorite benefit so far: having a whole new perspective on the world, that is, as I mentioned before, being able to better see the world from God’s point of view.  You’re nurturing your precious little creation, just as God nurtures each and every one of us.  True to my selfish nature, somehow I missed that until I had my own little one to cherish- I never realized God looked at me with so much love, until I looked at another creature the same way.  Sure, I love my husband, friends, and other family members, but it was never in the same way that I love my own offspring.

If you’re not a parent, no worries: you don’t have to be one to be a great example, you’re already influencing everyone around you with every decision you make.  So, if you want the world to be a better place, choose to be a good example.   You know the saying: “Be the change you want to see in the world.”  And also if you’re not a parent, there’s no reason to be one before realizing the immensity of God’s love, and sensing His point of view.  That was my mistake, and I’m sharing it so you can learn from it.  Part of seeing the world more from His perspective is to look at our problems and try to hear God’s voice tell us how He’d solve them, parents or not.  Seeing things from His perspective helps us realize truths of all of life’s more puzzling issues: what’s a big deal and what’s not, what’s right and wrong, what’s worth pursuing and what needs to be left alone, etc.

Why do we get these benefits/lessons when we have children?  It could just be a random coincidence, but I feel that having children is one of God’s examples to us of how the world works.  He’s showing us  but a teeny-tiny fraction of what it’s like to be Him.  Not to undermine the immense importance of our jobs, but if the world were nothing but animals, it’s like we’re given the simple task of just feeding one tiny ant farm, whereas God takes care of every  last detail of every last creature alive, from the cellular waste elimination to the geographical placement of everything from the wasp to the elephant, the newly hatched duckling to the vast moose herds.  We have to feed our ants if we want them to be healthy and grow, because if we pay only minimal attention to our farms, they may perish.  And remember, we’re only supposed to feed our little farm, not provide every life sustaining detail in everyones’ lives like God does.  His work is much greater, impossible for us to grasp.

Our “ant farm” is God trying to clue us in as to how the whole life thing goes, just as we’d acquire a family pet to teach our own children about responsibility.  When we have kids, we automatically love them unconditionally and want to set the best example possible, and that’s God teaching us how He feels about us.  We also naturally want the best for them and hope they are grateful for all we do for them, just as God wants for us.  These are but a few of the basics.  We, as humans, though, are sure to make mistakes along the way, especially when we aren’t intentional, but if you remember how forgiving your God is, it’ll be easier to keep trying to figure this parenting thing out!  You’re given this immense responsibility for a reason, and God’s also given you the strength and skills to be the parent (and person) He’s called you to be!
Psalm 86:15
But you, O Lord, are a God merciful and gracious, slow to anger and abounding in steadfast love and faithfulness.
 
Galatians 3:26 
So in Christ Jesus you are all children of God through faith.
And remember to thank God for your life today and every day!
18 thoughts on “God’s Lessons, Lessons from Kids

  1. Hey Sarah,

    Good morning! I was “parked” near you on Mommy Moments, and I’m glad to find your post.

    What wisdom – love that you are learning from your children! They do teach us so many things!
    And, it doesn’t stop when they are small. In fact, I learn daily from my college-age kids! God uses them to teach me all the time! It’s a great adventure!

    I liked your post so much that I shared your post here: https://www.pinterest.com/melredd/blog-link-parties-and-blog-link-ups/

    Hope you have a blessed day~
    Melanie

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Melanie! Thank you so much for your kind words, and for sharing it on pinterest! I feel so blessed to have a little one, and another little one on the way, and I’m so happy you’re learning from yours’ as well. Have a great day, Melanie, and I’m forever grateful for all your support!

      Like

    1. Thanks, Nicole! Yes, I’ve always loved that saying. It used to feel like it wasn’t so true, when I was so caught up in the negativity of the world and its never-ending pointless activities, but in the end, it so is.

      I’m sure you’ll have a very cute baby someday, lol! It’s not really something you can rush, but they are so fun, and you’ll be so happy when you’re there!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love the honesty of the good, the bad and the ugly of parenting. It is not always roses and chocolates but it so very worth it! Parenting has been a life changer on so many levels for me! Nothing like having little people in your home who learn all of your bad habits! Ha!

    Like

    1. Thanks Ana! So true- some days, it’s very hard. Toddler temper tantrums take some effort to deal with lol! So glad you’ve found it to be a positive in your life as well. Thanks for reading and commenting!

      Like

  3. Sarah, thank you so much for visiting my corner of the web today – what a beautiful post how motherhood has changed you. It is so very true – and one day, you will have a grandchild asking if they can guest post!!!

    Like

  4. It’s sure a whole new perspective on life once you have children, isn’t it? As mine get older, I feel like I’ve gained more and more perspective on life. God teaches much through the young, doesn’t He? 🙂 Lovely, thanks for sharing, Sarah. Visiting you from Susan’s linkup this morning. ((blessings))

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, it sure is! I know I have a ton more to learn about life as well, as mine is but a toddler now. We’re His little ones, so it’s nice to think that He sees us not just as fondly, but more fondly, since He’s perfect, than we see our own- because we see our own kids with so much admiration. Thank you so much for taking the time to visit and comment!

      Like

  5. Sarah, I already knew you were a beautiful person..inside and and out, but after reading all your stories it just truly confirms it!!! Your writings have brought tears of joy and pride. I thank God for for you being my son’s wife and such a great mother to my grandson…we are so blessed!

    Like

    1. Aww thank you Teresa! You are very kind! I’m glad you enjoyed reading through them. We are so lucky to have you guys too, and Jude has some amazing grandparents in you both!

      Like

Leave a Reply

