God: The Ultimate Father

I read my son the book Me and My Dad every once in a while.  It’s about a bear and his daddy, and some of it goes like this:
bear4
My dad wakes me up every morning like this-
He tickles my nose and gives me a kiss.
We go out exploring, there’s so much to see.
My dad knows where all the best secrets will be!
bear2
My dad twirls me ’round and the world whizzes past.
My head gets all dizzy, I’m spinning so fast.
When loud thunder roars and the skies turn to gray,
my dad keeps me safe, till the storm goes away.
bear
When I get sleepy, dad gives me a hug
And carries me home, all cozy and snug.
bear5
My dad is the best daddy bear there could be.
We’re together forever- my dad and me.

This book is so darn cute, with the best illustrations, and the loveliest text.  There are a plethora of other activities these two bears get into, as well: finding honey, getting chased by bees, playing in the rain, stories beneath the starlight, swimming in the river.

I love this book, but I don’t know about you guys, but my Dad didn’t get to do all those things with me.  Don’t get me wrong: he was an excellent father.  Always there, always supporting us and teaching us about the world.  But he didn’t have the leisurely life these bears obviously had.  He had to go to work to make money so we could eat, and you know, have a house.

Maybe your experience was similar and your dad was great, but didn’t get to take you on so many adventures.  Or maybe your dad wasn’t around; maybe he was an absentee father, or worse, already passed away when you were a child.  So some of us may read this and resentfully think, “Lucky little bear!  Wish my dad was like that daddy bear!”  Or, more cynically, “No dad is that great!”

But guess what?  There’s another father who has always been there for us, and will always be.  He’s been there right beside us no matter what we’ve been doing, whether we’ve paid an ounce of attention to him or not.  He’s been there through every experience we have ever had: finding treasures of honey, protecting us from our “storms,” from each time we wake up in the morning until we close our eyes at night, and all the time in between.  If you are an adult like me, you probably don’t get as much dad time as when you were a kid, but it is such a great reassurance to know there is a guidance in your life you can always look up to.

And it makes life easier to know that no matter what, God has the answer.  It just takes the extra time to listen to it.

So when I read the book now, instead of feeling disgruntled, I think of all the great times I’ve had with my heavenly father- my ultimate creator- and all the good times we have to come, as well as the fond thoughts of my earthly father who loves me so much.  And then I think, Thank you God, for my life!
2 thoughts on “God: The Ultimate Father

  1. I absolutely love this post and also the book. I have gave it to my grandchildren and have loved reading it! Reading this post made me smile because the Lord gave me a similar picture through the book as well as some things I sense while journaling one day.

    Blessings on you!
    Pam

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much, Pam, glad you liked it! The book is so cute, and my son got it from his grandmother as well. I love the convictions I get from the Lord, a lot of times when I least expect them, like when reading this book!

      Like

Leave a Reply

