Why Thou Shall Prosper is Relevant, Even if You Don’t Want to Learn about Money

At this point in my life, I feel as if some clouds have parted, clouds that have created an overcast in my life and made things very foggy at times, other times made it gray and dreary, and at some times were transparent enough to let some sunlight pass through, the light being God and His infinite wisdom.  But, I feel like the clouds have begun to part, and that I am understanding more, and more, and more, albeit seeking the understanding.  I don’t know if this is a common feeling for newly recommitted Christians, or if it’s unique for me and my situation, but I sure am glad it’s here.  Another way I could describe it is as if a curtain has been pulled back, and revealed to me a grand stage that has an elaborate paly enacting the answers to life’s “secrets” that were never meant to be secrets to begin with.  God wants you to seek this knowledge and have it, and so do I, because it’s so liberating and refreshing.  I overlooked them for so long, and things are so much easier with access to these “secrets.”

I feel as if the seed for my understanding was planted a long time ago, during childhood, as I received Biblical education as a youngster.  So maybe it turned into a young sapling and stayed dormant for a while as I just coasted along, not taking care to fertilize or supplement the growth of my sapling in any serious way, or maybe it was completely dead and had to be reborn, I’m not sure!  But now, with careful protection  and nourishment, I’m beginning to grow in my faith and it’s so nice!  It’s the place you want to be.  I don’t know where I am at in my trajectory- hindsight always seems to let me know way better- but I can only know that I wish to keep growing and hope that I’m still immature in my knowledge, because if this is only the beginning of how living according to God’s laws can make you feel, then I can’t wait to experience what living a full life of more complete understanding and complete obedience to His will will do for me.

So this is part of the overwhelming feelings of appreciativeness and understanding of life I have recently been feeling- that everything’s just a gift from above and we really don’t deserve any of it- and I wonder how could I make others understand how I feel?  How could I spur their own faith if that is something they do, indeed, seek?  And, I thought back to what spurred my journey and I think it was the book Thou Shall Prosper by Rabbi Daniel Lapin.  It’s a genius book about how to be wealthier, but while I was reading it, I couldn’t help but overlook all the financial tips and recognize the “ancient Jewish wisdom” pattern that kept recurring in this book.  Ancient Jewish wisdom tells us this, this, this, this, and that, according to Lapin, and the things it told us were amazing little truths about life, things that put words to occurrences and made sense of things that happen all the time.  It absolutely amazed me and intrigued me that he linked all these truths to the Bible and God.  They weren’t just about the major commandments, but instead little tiny truths about things we may consider minor factions of life that some no doubt simply overlook, but others have always wondered about.  Before that book, I mostly associated religions with hypocrisy, and that turned me off, not only to religions, but to Godly things as well, because I associated God with religions.  But here was a Jewish rabbi telling me that so much truth that is so relevant to my life today can be traced back to someone who already figured out my problems thousands and thousands of years ago, and that God cares about these things in my life.  Thank you, Rabbi, for opening up my eyes, I don’t know if it was your intent, but your book actually led me away from the pursuit of money and toward the pursuit of Biblical knowledge.  I no longer associate religions with hypocrisy, but understand it’s just a human flaw in most of us, at least to some degree.

So, if you haven’t read Thou Shall Prosper, I encourage you to do so, even if you don’t care about money, and even if you’re a Christian or an atheist.  Everything Lapin talks about is still plausible for your life, and plus it’s a fun, fascinating read that’s sure to entertain, no matter what.  That’s what spurred my walk with Jesus, and maybe it could help you, too!

Leave a Reply

